RTRA Drag Radial Championship Series Set To Kick Off in Texas

The Radial Tire Racing Association (RTRA) is set to kick off its third season of drag radial racing action in Texas on April 6-8th with the Texas Radial Round Up. North Star Dragway in Denton, Texas will again play exclusive host to this elite series with three points races on tap for this season. RTRA series racers have repeatedly broken national records in Pro Drag Radial, X275 and Limited 275 class racing at NSD, a track most would argue is the best drag radial prepped surface in the country. Track owner and RTRA founder Gene Nicodemus has successfully hosted the first 3.80 range pass in drag radial history by Jason Michalak in 2015 and first 3.70 range pass in history by “Stevie Fast” Jackson last spring. With dates set for April 6-8th, June 1-3rd and October 19-21st the anticipation in mounting for another stellar season of racing in the RTRA points series. The payouts for this year have increased and are as follows: Pro Drag Radial $10,000 to win, X275 $10,000 to win, Pro 275 $5,000 to win and Limited 275 $2,500 to win.

RTRA racers enjoy this unique series because it not only provides the growing drag radial scene in the Southwest a premier place to race, but the points Championship chase also adds excitement to each event and makes every single round of qualifying and eliminations that much more important for the contenders. “We’ve enjoyed watching some class Championships come down to the late rounds of the final event of the season,” said Nicodemus. “It doesn’t get much better than seeing the fastest small tire cars in the world here in Texas, but when they are back in the trailer with a pen and paper tabulating points after each round, it really adds a lot of intensity for the fans and racers alike, it’s a lot of fun to watch.”

New to the fold this season is the Pro 275 category, the fourth class of RTRA competition set to debut in just two weeks. 2016 RTRA Champions Alepa Racing, Clint Downs and Stephen Barnett are expected to return in their title defense and a first time Champion will be crowned in Pro 275. It will be no easy feat as the drag radial movement continues to boom and bring in new teams, technology and resources that could produce more world records in 2017. Multiple test sessions have already occurred at North Star Dragway in February and March, which were a great indication that this year’s RTRA competition will be plenty stiff. The RTRA series would like to thank Evolution Race Development, Bryson Motorsports, SEI Oilfield Services, BTM Services, Class A CDL, Race Craft Inc., Alepa Racing, Nitrous Outlet, Pipeline Express, Fast Forward Innovations, Odie Sturgeon Racing, TurboBullet.com, Red Baron Racing and Wilson Racing for their support of the 2017 Championship season. For more information visit http://www.rtraracing.com.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.